Occupation codes in other datasets at IPUMS

[Let me know if this is not the best forum for this question. I figure it’s a starting point given the connection to CPS, with which I most familiar, and I’m not aware of a general forum.]

I’m new to using the occupation codes in the CPS and it occured to me that some other datasets at IPUMs would also have occupation codes. Moreover, they might have perhaps different codes or additional codes or job-related variables not in the CPS or ACS. Long story short, I’m looking for data (USA) about physical therapists and physical therapist assistants (which are sometimes lumped together with pt aides). I assume CPS and ACS are the usual sources used (along with data the BLS collects), but are occupation codes in the health databases or other sets at IPUMs?

Thanks.
-Doug

The CPS topic is a reasonable place to post this question; for future reference there is also a forum for general questions.

I can provide more detail on each collection if you have a particular research question in mind. This webinar also may be of interest as it provides an overview of how to study the health workforce using IPUMS data with a particular emphasis on how to study their health care utilization and expenditures using IPUMS Health Surveys. Broadly speaking, aside from the ACS and CPS, data on occupations is provided in the following IPUMS US data collections:

• IPUMS Health Surveys (OCC in the NHIS and OCCCATRD in the MEPS)
    Both OCC and OCCCATRD are less detailed than OCC in the ACS/CPS, reporting occupations using two digits rather than four. The NHIS identifies Occupational and physical therapist assistants and aides, while the MEPS lumps them into Service occupations.

• IPUMS Time Use (OCC in the ATUS)